This guide lists selected resources available to you through the UBC Library and on the web. Need more help? Come to meet a Science & Engineering librarian or sign up for a Science and Engineering Library Workshop. Choose one of the above tabs to find the information you are interested in. Please contact us if you need further assistance.
Eugene Barsky eugene.barsky@ubc.ca Phone: (604) 822-9606 Science and Engineering LibraryOffice 414Irving K. Barber Learning Centre1961 East MallVancouver, BC V6T 1Z1
Compendex - Premier engineering database, covering the core literature of the engineering field, including related specialties and technologies. Web of Science - Multidisciplinary database, includes Physical Sciences, Medical Sciences, Life Sciences, Applied Sciences, Agriculture, Humanities and Social Sciences, Law and Business. CAB Direct (CAB Abstracts & Global Health) - International literature on all topics in agriculture, forestry, human health, human nutrition, animal health and the management and conservation of natural resources, leisure and tourism. Coverage 1900- Academic Search Complete A multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 4,600 peer-reviewed journals. GREENR Resource that focuses on the academic study of sustainability and the environment. Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management Includes article citations and web resources; covers: Engineering, Technology, and Life & Physical Sciences. Chemical Abstracts SciFinder Scholar - Primary database for chemistry and chemical engineering, biochemistry, biotechnology, electrochemistry, metallurgy and materials science and pharmacology.
Look in the UBC Catalogue for books in print and ebooks. Also see the list below for some eBook collections.
Try the following links (subject headings that will show you all books we have about the respective issues): Economic development--Environmental aspects--India. Economic development--India. Economic development--Moral and ethical aspects.
ENGnetBASE: Engineering Handbooks Online CRC Handbooks in Civil Engineering; Chemical and Biological Engineering; Mechanical Engineering; Electrical and Computer Engineering; Metals and Materials Engineering. SpringerLink Full-text online access to books and journals published by Springer. Knovel Basic Academic Online handbooks in science and engineering, particularly good for chemistry and related disciplines Books 24x7 - IT and Technical Topics Books24x7 - IT and Technical Topics is a collection of online computer science books dealing with all aspects of information technology including programming languages such as C++ or C#, operating systems such as Linux and Windows XP, applications such as ASP.NET, software such as Excel and Powerpoint, web design, and computer gaming. More UBC Library eBooks
How to Cite Sources - UBC Library RefWorks and RefShare - Citation Management Software RefWorks allows users to create personal citation databases by importing references and links from online databases and catalogues. Copyright at UBC Evaluating Print Sources - UBC Library Evaluating Internet Sources - UBC Library