Aboriginal Education Research GuideThis research guide provides direction for finding educational resources with Indigenous perspectives. Find information about materials to support your research, as well as information about organizations supporting Aboriginal Education. For additional help with your research, please contact a X̱wi7x̱wa librarian or visit the reference desk at the X̱wi7x̱wa Library.
Related Guides Aboriginal Children's Literature Aboriginal Languages Coming soon! Currently links to Aboriginal Studies guide Aboriginal Studies Education Lesson Plans (Elementary Level) Lesson Plans (Secondary Level)
UBC Departments Native Indian Teacher Education Program There is a shortage of Aboriginal teachers in BC, and an increasing number of Aboriginal people desire to become teachers. NITEP was designed to meet these particular needs. UBC Faculty of Education Graduate, Undergraduate and Professional Development Programs
Librarians UBC Vancouver Ann Doyle (X̱wi7x̱wa Library) UBC Vancouver Kim Lawson (X̱wi7x̱wa Library) UBC Vancouver Sarah Dupont (X̱wi7x̱wa Library)
How to Find Books with Aboriginal ContentSearch the UBC Library Catalogue: Try Keywords First Nations Aboriginal Native Indigenous Indian Use quotation marks to search for a phrase Example: "first nations", "residential school"Use a question mark to truncate a term, i.e. search words with the same stem. Example: aborig? searches aboriginal, aboriginals, aboriginality, etc Subject Headings Browse Subject (begins with): Indians of North America First Nations Indigenous peoples Inuit Métis Native peoples Aboriginal rights Aboriginal title Indians of North America -- Treaties First Nations -- Residential Schools Browse Subject contains: Example: indian? and trap? Subject contains search is more focused than a general keyword search. TIP:♥ UBC Library Catalogue truncation symbol is ? Databases & Summon truncation symbol is *
Librarians UBC Vancouver Ann Doyle (X̱wi7x̱wa Library) UBC Vancouver Kim Lawson (X̱wi7x̱wa Library) UBC Vancouver Sarah Dupont (X̱wi7x̱wa Library)
Finding ArticlesSTART WITH: EDUCATION RESEARCH COMPLETEIndex to a large collection of full text education journals and some books ERIC (EBSCO) Large index to journals/documents on all aspects of education, from preschool to post-secondary and adult education. CBCA COMPLETE (FULL-TEXT)Includes Canadian information in the field of education not available elsewhere. EDUCATION INDEX FULL TEXT Includes articles in journals and yearbooks, mostly American, with some full text. ED/ITLIBIncludes peer-reviewed articles and papers on research related to all aspects of Educational Technology and E-Learning. INTERNATIONAL ERIC Consists of the Australian Education Index and British Education Index MORE TO SEARCH: ACADEMIC SEARCH COMPLETE Access to a collection of multi-disciplinary journals and full text articles. COMMUNICATIONS & MASS MEDIA COMPLETEOffers research in areas related to communication and mass media such as digital, video and multimodal technologies. PSYCINFOThe major index for psychology, but includes education topics that focus on cognitive development, gender, family, linguistics, special educaton and counselling. REPEREComprehensive source for journal articles in French. WEB OF SCIENCE A citation index covering the social sciences, humanities and sciences.
Looking for More? Search Summon!Summon is a search engine that provides a single access point to find the majority of UBC Library Collections including: * Print books and eBooks * Scholarly journal articles * Newspaper articles * Theses and dissertations * Digitized items * Conference proceedings * Images and music scores
Librarians UBC Vancouver Ann Doyle (X̱wi7x̱wa Library) UBC Vancouver Kim Lawson (X̱wi7x̱wa Library) UBC Vancouver Sarah Dupont (X̱wi7x̱wa Library)
Theses cIRcle: UBC's Institutional Repository Full text UBC theses and dissertations (Fall 2007 to present). A project is underway to digitize older UBC theses. Currently, theses and dissertations from 1974 to 1987, and 1992 to 2006, are available. Search for subjects using keywords: Aboriginal, Indigenous, First Nations. Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations An international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination, and preservation of electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). Collection includes over 1 million ETDs. ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Predominantly doctoral dissertations from North American universities (1997 to 2007). There is some international coverage and pre-1997 titles. Search terms: First Nations, Aboriginal, indigenous, Native American. Theses Canada Portal (Library and Archives Canada) Approximately 310,000 theses and dissertations from Library and Archives Canada (1965 to present). Fulltext available for about 90,000. Search terms: First Nations, Aboriginal, indigenous, Native American.
Librarians UBC Vancouver Ann Doyle (X̱wi7x̱wa Library) UBC Vancouver Kim Lawson (X̱wi7x̱wa Library) UBC Vancouver Sarah Dupont (X̱wi7x̱wa Library)
Online Curriculum Resources Aboriginal Perspectives (National Film Board of Canada) Access to films and resources for high school and upper elementary classrooms Our Homes Are Bleeding (Union of BC Indian Chiefs) Learning strategies and lesson plans regarding the cut-off lands in BC BCTF Aboriginal Teaching Resources (British Columbia Teacher's Federation) Resources for teaching Aboriginal subjects K-12 The Ipperwash Inquiry (Government of Ontario) Resources for teaching the Ipperwash Inquiry to Grades 9-12. SACNAS Biography Project (Society for Advancement of Chicanos and Native Americans in Science) Resource for K-12 educators who are interested in teaching their students about the accomplishments of Chicano/Latino and Native American scientists Native Drums (Carleton University) First Nations music explored through Canadian curriculum based learning materials like games, images, videos, interviews, and teacher resource kits. Alaska Native Knowledge Network Curriculum resources organized by subject and grade level Cradleboard Project (Buffy Sainte Marie) Science Through Native American Eyes BC First Nations Studies 12 IRP Integrated Resource Package [pdf] for First Nations Studies 12 in British Columbia Forests for the Future An ecological knowledge research project including curriculum materials that facilitate the sharing of information and understanding of the issues related to forestry and natural resources Indian Reading Series: Stories and Legends of the Northwest (The Northwest Regional Educational Laboratory) Readings and language development and teacher's manual to be used as a supplemental to formal reading programs Kids' Stop (INAC) Exercises and worksheets for a variety of ages Oyate Teaching Resources (Oyate) Materials for identifying historical accuracy, cultural appropriateness and without anti-Indian bias and stereotypes, including reviews of children's literature Shared Learnings (BC Ministry of Education) Shared Learnings Integrating BC Aboriginal Content K-10 [pdf] Niitsitapiisini:Our Way of Life (Glenbow Museum) Blackfoot Curriculum Materials Blackfoot Curriculum Resource Grades 3-5 Seeing with New Eyes: A Journey Through Blackfoot Knowledge (Archives Society of Alberta and Red Crow Community College) Blackfoot Curriculum Materials Includes Teacher Toolkit, with related lesson plans for the Alberta Social Studies Curriculum and Aboriginal schools Anti-Racism Toolkit (First Nations Education Steering Committee) Anti-Racism Materials Resources and anti-racism workshops available for BC schools Racism. No way! Anti-racism Materials Anti-racism guide for Australian schools, including teacher resources from K-12 Aboriginal Literatures in Canada: A Teacher's Resource Guide (CSC) This resource from the Curriculum Services Canada provides guidance on appropriate and sensitive ways to teach Aboriginal literature. Available in pdf.
Aboriginal Curriculum Resources in the UBC CatalogueSearch the UBC Library Catalogue:Click on Advanced Search under Books and Media Subject HeadingsBrowse using these terms: Curricula Curriculum development Curriculum materials Study and teaching Cultural education combined with: First Nations Aboriginal Native Indigenous Indian
Librarians UBC Vancouver Ann Doyle (X̱wi7x̱wa Library) UBC Vancouver Kim Lawson (X̱wi7x̱wa Library) UBC Vancouver Sarah Dupont (X̱wi7x̱wa Library)
Aboriginal Education Statistics Post-Secondary Education and Labour Market Outcomes Canada, 2001 [pdf] Basic Departmental Data, 2004 (Indian and Northern Affairs Canada) [pdf] See section on Education Basic Departmental Data, 2003 (Indian and Northern Affairs Canada)[pdf] See section on Education Northern Indicators 2006 (Indian and Northern Affairs Canada) [pdf] See Section 2 - Education and Social Indices 1991 Census Highlights on Registered Indians: Annotated Tables (Indian and Northern Affairs Canada) [pdf] See Section on Education
Census Data2006 Census Release - Aboriginal Peoples 2006 Aboriginal Population Profile Fact Sheet: 2006 Aboriginal Demographics 2001 Aboriginal Peoples of Canada Aboriginal Peoples - Recent Trends Aboriginal Peoples of Canada - A Demographic Profile 1996 1996 Census Tables 1996 Community Profiles 1991 1991 Census Highlights on Registered Indians: Annotated Tables [pdf] Socio-Economic Indicators in Indian Reserves and Comparable Communities, 1971-1991 [pdf] Highlights of Aboriginal Conditions 1991, 1986: Demographic, Social and Economic Characteristics [pdf]
Librarians UBC Vancouver Ann Doyle (X̱wi7x̱wa Library) UBC Vancouver Kim Lawson (X̱wi7x̱wa Library) UBC Vancouver Sarah Dupont (X̱wi7x̱wa Library)
Librarians UBC Vancouver Ann Doyle (X̱wi7x̱wa Library) UBC Vancouver Kim Lawson (X̱wi7x̱wa Library) UBC Vancouver Sarah Dupont (X̱wi7x̱wa Library)
Wondering how to cite your sources? RefWorks is a web-based citation management program that enables you to: download, gather, and store references from databases and library catalogues automatically format citations and bibliographies in seconds connect to your RefWorks account anywhere there's web access share your citations with other RefWorks users Video Tutorials How to set up RefWorks account (1 min. video) Direct Import from an Online Database Service (3:19 min. video) Creating a Custom Output Style List (4:25 min. video) Quick Bibliography (3:44 min. video) more RefWorks video tutorials here….
Librarians UBC Vancouver Ann Doyle (X̱wi7x̱wa Library) UBC Vancouver Kim Lawson (X̱wi7x̱wa Library) UBC Vancouver Sarah Dupont (X̱wi7x̱wa Library)
Post Secondary Programs and Resources American Indian Higher Education Consortium (AIHEC) Consortium of tribal colleges (34 American and 1 Canadian college) that supports the work of the colleges and tribal self-determination Aboriginal Bursaries (INAC) Searchable list of bursaries, scholarships and incentives across Canada for Aboriginal students ArizonaNativeNet (Unversity of Arizona) Contains news, videotaped lectures, workshops and conferences, up-to-date research, and resources on American Indian governance, law, health, education, language and culture 2001 BC College and Institute Aboriginal Former Student Outcomes (British Columbia Ministry of Advanced Education) [pdf] Study on education and labour market outcomes for Aboriginal former college, university college, and institute students who participated in the BC College and Institute Student Nicola Valley Institute of Technology (NVIT) BC's Aboriginal public post-secondary institute Q'epethet ye Mestiyexw: A Gathering of the People (UBC) UBC Faculty of Education & First Nations House of Learning Research project to discuss, debate, determine, begin and publish collaborative First Nations research Post-Secondary Education for Status Indians and Inuit (INAC) [pdf] Report done in 2000 on the factors that have lead to an increase in Status Indian and Inuit student enrollment Federal Indian Law and Policy (UCLA) Online course on Federal Indian Law and Policy offered through UCLA Extension Aboriginal Training Program (Museum of Civilization) Aboriginal Training Program in Museum Practices offers First Nations, Métis, and Inuit participants professional and technical training in research, collections, exhibitions, public programs, public affairs and publishing, development or museum services. Aboriginal Programs (Lakehead University) Lakehead University offers a variety of Aboriginal programs, including Honours Bachelor of Education (Aboriginal), Indigenous Learning Program, Native Access Program, Native Language Instructors' Program, Native Nurses Entry Program, and Native Teacher Education Program Nunavut Arctic College Post-secondary institution based in Nunavut Guide to Native American Studies Programs (ASAIL) Association for the Study of American Indian Literatures offers a guide to Native American Studies programs in the U.S. and Canada First Nations Unversity of Canada Post-secondary institution specializing in Indigenous knowledge Indigenous Studies program(Trent University) Indigenous Studies program at Trent University Faculty of Native Studies (University of Alberta) Faculty of Native Studies at the University of Alberta First Nations House of Learning (UBC) First Nations House of Learning at the University of British Columbia First Nations Studies program (UNBC) First Nations Studies program at University of Northern British Columbia Gabriel Dumont Institute Gabriel Dumont Institute of Native Studies and Applied Research post-secondary institution
Preschool to Grade 12 Associations Aboriginal Education Programs and Services in Vancouver (Vancouver School Board) Programs and services provided by the Vancouver School Board for the success of Aboriginal students and educators in the following areas: belonging, mastery of skills, and culture and community First Nations Education Centre (Coast Mountains School District #82) Based out of Terrace, BC in Tsimshian Territory, the First Nations Education Centre provides resources like lesson plans, publications and links. LUCID program (SFU) LUCID (Learning for Understanding through Culturally Inclusive Imaginative Development) is a partnership program between SFU Faculty of Education and the Stó:lõ , Haida , and Tsimshian First Nations Canadian Aboriginal Books for Schools 2010-2011 [pdf] An annotated catalogue of useful school library resources for elementary and secondary students. This list includes books with aboriginal content, all of which were selected and evaluated by teacher-librarians Education Library (UBC) Comprehensive collection of general education resources: lesson plans, BC Ministry of Education publications, BCTF, contact information for Education faculty at UBC, and post-secondary & graduate student information Four Directions: An Indigenous Model of Education (U.S. Department of Education and the Pueblo of Laguna Dept. of Education) This indigenous model of Education aims to foster community web development at tribal schools, focusing on the United States
Librarians UBC Vancouver Ann Doyle (X̱wi7x̱wa Library) UBC Vancouver Kim Lawson (X̱wi7x̱wa Library) UBC Vancouver Sarah Dupont (X̱wi7x̱wa Library)