Skip to main content

PhD and MSc in Business Administration

Literature Reviews

"Literature review" typically refers to work produced in the context of an article in an academic publication or as part of a Master's thesis or Doctoral dissertation.

Refer to Literature Reviews Research Guide for a comprehensive step-by-step to finding information sources for a literature review for a master's or PhD thesis.

Citation Analysis & Impact Factors

Citation Analysis is the examination of the frequency and patterns of citations in articles and books. 

It can be used to evaluate the impact of individual research, mapping impact in a field of research or journal, discover related research, or decide on a publication in which to publish.

 A Journal Impact Factor (JIF) is used to indicate the relative importance of a journal within a given field and a higher JIF is seen as providing more “authority” or “weight” to a researchers’ work.

For much more detailed information, see UBC Library's Citation Analysis & Impact Factors page:

Searching Article Databases

Articles are specific in scope and can also provide information on current trends and issues. Article databases listed here are available through the library and allow you to search hundreds of journals, magazines or newspapers for information on a variety of topics.

Learn the basics of searching for articles in business databases in our short video below, or refer to our Research Tips guide for for examples of how to search article databases effectively, like using single words or short phrases. 

(Sample video content from Business Source Complete database used by permission of EBSCO Publishing.)

Business Article Databases

Identifying Article Databases in Other Disciplines

  1. To find key article databases in other disciplines explore subject appropriate guides listed on the Research Guides page.
  2. If you are researching a multidisciplinary topic, use the Summon search box on the UBC Library website. After running a keyword search in Summon, there is also an option to create an RSS feed.
  3. For more information on how to search Summon click here.

 

Additional Article Databases

Search for a Specific Article or Book