Skip to main content

Research Impact Challenge: Challenge 8: What's New in your Research Area - Use Alerts to Stay Up-to-date on your Field

Challenge Description

Challenge Eight
What's New in your Research Area:
Use Alerts to Stay Up-to-date on your Field

 

Today's challenges are around being impactful in an indirect way - by staying on top of your field. Staying on the cutting edge of your discipline can help you find unexpected opportunities for collaboration and spark your own creativity.  

In this Challenge, you'll set up alerts for your research topic. These alerts will send the newest research into your inbox, with very little effort on your part.

This session will be lead by Sally Taylor, Reference Librarian, Woodward Library.

Register

 

Research Impact Challenge Bank

The Research Impact Challenges Bank is a set of simple online activities to help you learn and apply concepts about building your online academic profile, connecting with other researchers, keeping informed of research, discoverability and access to resources, and research metrics & analysis.

 Step 1   Select a Challenge

 Step 2   Complete a Challenge

 Step 3   Share Your Response

 

To complete the Use Alerts to Stay Up-to-date in Your Field challenge and other RSS Feeds challenges, go to the Research Challenge Bank.

Acknowledgements

This Challenge is adapted under a CC-BY 4.0 license from the The 30-Day Impact Challenge: The Ultimate Guide to Raising the Profile of Your Research eBook published by Impactstory.org and authored by Stacy Konkiel.

The original challenge is Impact Challenge Day 21: Stay up-to-date on your entire field.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

The Challenge

In this Challenge, you'll set up alerts for your research topic using Google Scholar and/or Web of Science Core Collection. These alerts will send the newest research into your inbox, with very little effort on your part.

Step 1

  1. Go to Google Scholar and search for your topic.
  2. Click on Create Alert and enter your email address.

Step 2

  1. Go to Web of Science Core Collection and search for your topic.
  2. Register for an account.
  3. Click on Search History and Save History / Create Alert.
  4. Complete the form to give the alert a name and select such things as format and frequency.

Search Tips for Web of Science Core Collection (and other databases too!)

e.g. "british columbia" AND biodiversity AND (forest* OR trees)

  • Use quotation marks for phrases (e.g. "british columbia")
  • Use AND to combine more than one concept (e.g. forestry and biodiversity)
  • Use OR to search for synonyms or related words (e.g. forests or trees)
  • Use truncation to search variations of a word (e.g. forest* will search forest, forests or forestry)

Homework

There may be other databases besides Google Scholar and Web of Science Core Collection that are more suitable for your research or will augment your search results.

Step 3

  1. Find a Research Guide appropriate for your discipline.
  2. Identify a key resource/database recommended by your subject librarian.
  3. Search for your topic in the database.
  4. Save your search as an alert.

Many databases are available from large vendors such as EBSCO, Engineering Village, OvidSP and ProQuest. Check the Current Awareness Tools guide for instructions for setting up alerts on these common platforms.