Liaison Librarian, UBC Vancouver
Anne Olsen
She | Her
Contact:
Humanities & Social Sciences
Walter C. Koerner Library
1958 Main Mall | Vancouver, BC, V6T 1Z2
Walter C. Koerner Library
1958 Main Mall | Vancouver, BC, V6T 1Z2
604.822.3018
Key Resources for English Studies
- MLA International Bibliography (Modern Language Association) This link opens in a new windowThe most important index covering literature, languages, linguistics, folklore and film. Contains over 3 million records and annually indexes over 70,000 journal articles, books, websites, dissertations and other formats. Coverage from 1926 to the present.
- Gale Literary SourcesIndexes over 1 million full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines, critical essays, topic overviews, biographies and more.
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowIncludes the following titles: The Oxford Encyclopedia of British Literature, The Oxford Companion to English Literature,The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature, The Oxford Companion to Canadian Literature, The Oxford Encyclopedia of British Literature, The Oxford Companion to English Literature, etc.
Getting Started
Check out the Library's User Guides to find out about Library branches, how to access electronic information from home, how to find course materials, how to read call numbers, where to get help, etc.
New to writing essays about literature? The Library has many academic books to assist you. Some titles include:
How to Write Critical Essays by This invaluable book offers the student of literature detailed advice on the entire process of critical essay writing, from first facing the question right through to producing a fair copy for final submission to the teacher.
Writing Essays about Literature by This text provides students with valuable guidelines for interpreting literature and writing essays. It includes full-length selections as well as student essays.
A Short Guide to Writing about Literature by This guide emphasizes writing as a process and incorporates new critical approaches to writing about literature. The twelfth edition continues to offer students sound advice on how to become critical thinkers and enrich their reading response through accessible, step-by-step instruction.
