Government Publications - British Columbia

29th Parliament (1970) - Present 

• Available online and at Koerner Library at J110.L5 D42.
• Note, there are both subject and speaker indexes available for this Hansard collection. 

Pre-1970 - BC Legislative Assembly Sessional Clipping Books (1891-1972)

• The Debates/Hansard were not formally collected and published before 1970, but they were widely reported in the local press. Staff members at the Legislative Library would clip any such reports from the local papers and maintained the clippings in British Columbia Legislative Assembly Sessional Clipping Books.
• Online:
  • 1891 - 1972 from the University of Victoria.
• Print and Microfilm:
  • Available in microfilm at Koerner Library for 1890 - 1894, 1896 - 1972 at AW1.R5782.
  • Print version in Rare Books and Special Collections.
• The Clipping Book Collection does not have an index so you may want to consult the BC Newspaper Index to help manage your search. The BC Newspaper Index covers content from Vancouver Sun, the Vancouver Province and the Victoria Times-colonist for 1900 - 1970 and are organized alphabetically by topic. A print holding is available in the Koerner Library at AW1.R5065.

• The Sessional Papers were published from 1872 - 1875 in the appendix of the Journals of the Legislative Assembly of British Columbia. From 1876 - 1982 they were published separately. 
• By the 1920s, the Sessional Papers primarily contained annual reports from government Ministries. 
• Content not transferred to the Journals includes:
  • The Voters' list - which was published on its own and is available in Rare Books and Special Collections from 1876 - 1979 at FC3806.2 .B723; and on microform from 1983 - 1993 at AW5.A454 V6.
  • The Estimates - which were published by the Ministry of Finance. UBC has print copies available from 1892 - 1977 at HJ14.B7 B1; 1977 - 1982 at HJ14.B7 B1; and for 1982/83 to present at HJ14.B7 B1.
• Online:
  • 1876 - 1982 from the UBC Digital Initiatives Collection.
• Print and Microfilm:
  • 1872 - 1982 from UBC Library in ASRS Storage at J110.L5 S7.
  • Microfilm available in Koerner Library for 1872 - 1875 at AW1.R-2077: GP-4C; and 1876 - 1982 at AW1 .R-7668.
  • Index to the microforms: Guide to the British Columbia Sessional Papers on Microfilm in Koerner Library at J110.M5 A46 2009.

• These consist of the official summary record of House proceedings and decisions. They are published by the Office of the Clerk at the conclusion of each session. They contain:
  • Summaries of speeches.
  • The titles and numbers of bills.
  • Voting records.
  • Orders of the House. 
  • Motions, papers presented.
  • Petitions.
  • Questions and resolutions.
• Online: 
  • 1851 - Present from the Legislative Library of British Columbia.
• Print:
  • 1872 - Present in Koerner Library and ASRS Storage at J110.L5 J8.

Available online from the Legislative Library of British Columbia (1992 - Present).

Available online from 35th Parliament (1992) - Present. 

Available online for the Executive Council and Parliamentary Secretaries of B.C.